Videos for PHY 3250, Biological Physics

Last fall, I recorded my lectures for my PHY 3250 (Biological Physics) class, and posted them on YouTube. The videos are not great; they are nowhere near professional quality, and often the chalkboard is difficult to read. I originally recorded them as a backup for my students, in case they missed a class or wanted to review something they heard me say in a lecture. Nevertheless, I think that students and instructors may find these videos useful.

My Biological Physics class covers the first ten chapters in Intermediate Physics for Medicine and Biology. Topics include biomechanics, fluid dynamics, the exponential function, biothermodynamics, diffusion, osmotic pressure, bioelectricity, biomagnetism, and feedback.

Some videos are missing: Monday, September 30 was Exam 1; Wednesday, October 30 was Exam 2; Wednesday, November 27 the class played Trivial Pursuit IPMB; and Friday, November 29 was the day after Thanksgiving.

If you are sitting at home self-quarantining with nothing to do, feel free to binge.

Enjoy!

Wednesday, September 4, 2019. Introduction.
Friday, September 6, 2019. Biomechanics.
Monday, September 9, 2019. Hydrostatics.
Wednesday, September 11, 2019. Fluid Dynamics.
Friday, September 13, 2019. The exponential function.
Monday, September 16, 2019. Scaling.
Wednesday, September 18, 2019. Boltzmann factor.
Friday, September 20, 2019. Heat capacity.
Monday, September 23, 2019. Heat transfer.
Wednesday, September 25, 2019. Review for Exam 1.
Friday, September 27, 2019. Review for Exam 1 (cont.).
Wednesday, October 2, 2019. Heat conduction.
Friday, October 4, 2019. Diffusion.
Monday, October 7, 2019. Diffusion and convection.
Wednesday, October 9, 2019. Osmotic pressure.
Friday, October 11, 2019. Countercurrent exchange.
Monday, October 14, 2019. Bioelectricity.
Wednesday, October 16, 2019. Hodgkin & Huxley model.
Friday, October 18, 2019. Hodgkin & Huxley model (cont.).
Monday, October 21, 2019. The cable equation.
Wednesday, October 23, 2019. Action potential propagation.
Friday, October 25, 2019. Review for Exam 2.
Monday, October 28, 2019. Review for Exam 2 (cont.).
Friday, November 1, 2019. Extracellular stimulation of nerves.
Monday, November 4, 2019. Extracellular potentials and the dipole.
Wednesday, November 6, 2019. The heart.
Friday, November 8, 2019. The electrocardiogram.
Monday, November 11, 2019. Pacemakers and defibrillators.
Wednesday, November 13, 2019. The electroencephalogram.
Friday, November 15, 2019. Biomagnetism.
Monday, November 18, 2019. Transcranial magnetic stimulation.
Wednesday, November 20, 2019. Cardiac restitution.
Friday, November 22, 2019. Cellular automata.
Monday, November 25, 2019. Feedback.
Monday, December 2, 2019. Feedback (cont.).
Wednesday, December 4, 2019. Review for Exam 3.
Friday, December 6, 2019. Review for Exam 3 (cont.).

Originally published at http://hobbieroth.blogspot.com.

--

--

Professor of Physics at Oakland University and coauthor of the textbook Intermediate Physics for Medicine and Biology.

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Brad Roth

Professor of Physics at Oakland University and coauthor of the textbook Intermediate Physics for Medicine and Biology.